2019 AICP Show Curatorial Committee Announced

NEW YORK – March 4, 2019 – Matt Miller, President and CEO of AICP, and Daniel Bergmann, Founder and President of global creative network Stink and the 2019 Chairper-son of the AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial, today announced the composition of the Show’s Curatorial Committee. The deadline for the Call for Entries to the AICP Awards is extended to March 8th – late fees will apply. For entry information, click here; for the first time pro res files are required for entrants.

Under the direction of  Bergmann and Miller, the Curatorial Committee is comprised of a diverse array of industry leaders from all disciplines that contribute to creating marketing in the motion image. The Curatorial Committee is part of a bifurcated judging system, which be-gins with a series of judging panels from across the country, with experts in various fields judging work across the 23 categories in the Show. The Curatorial Committee serves as the fi-nal arbiter in the disposition of the Show, confirming eligibility and appropriateness to catego-ry. 

The AICP Show, established in 1992, is the most important advertising showcase in the U.S. The AICP Next Awards, launched in 2007, highlights the winners of the 12 Next categories, which honor innovative marketing communications. The AICP Show and The AICP Next Awards are preserved in The Museum of Modern Art’s Department of Film’s state of the art archives for
future generations to study, and are available for use or exhibition by the museum’s curators. All individual works and each year’s shows in their entirety can be viewed exclusively at www.aicpawards.com, the AICP Awards Archive website.

“One of the unique features of the AICP Show is the role played by the Curatorial Committee. The process these dedicated professionals undertakes is vital to the identity of the AICP Show,” notes Miller. “Having representatives of every craft that goes into making award-winning work together in one room informs their deliberations and leads to insightful discussions about what makes a particular piece stand out and achieve true greatness – and that’s what defines the work honored at the AICP Show.”

“I’m very much looking forward to working with this group as we review the shortlists of the AICP Show categories,” says Bergmann. “With a cross section of acknowledged leaders in their respective fields I am anticipating the conversation regarding the work will be smart, insight-ful and illuminating. And best of all, our results will be on display for all to see as we celebrate the honorees at The Museum of Modern Art.”

This year, the AICP Show has introduced several new developments: a category for Best New Director,  and the naming of a Marketer of the Year. Entrants for the Best New Director award must have no more than two years professional experience in commercials/music vide-os. The work entered must be a commercial or music video that was commissioned by a client and can be for the international market. The Marketer of the Year award will recognize the Brand/Advertiser that has made a significant impact on the commercial industry by bringing together collaborative teams to create marketing communications in the motion image that not only exemplify an understanding of the creative craft but also serves as an inspiration to their creative partners. The Show’s Curatorial Committee will determine the Marketer of the Year honoree, based on one or more pieces from all category shortlists.

The 2019 Curatorial Committee

In addition to Bergmann and Miller, the AICP Show Curatorial Committee comprises: Jeff Baron, Managing Director, Stink; Ali Brown, VP/Executive Producer, PRETTYBIRD;
Wilson Brown, Executive Creative Director/Partner, Antfood; Rich Carter, Own-er/Executive Producer, brother; Hannes Ciatti, Co-Founder & Executive Creative Director,
JohnxHannes; Sally Ann Dale, Chief Creation Officer, Droga5; Benjamin Davies, Executive Producer/Director of Development, Furlined; Martin De Thurah, Director, Epoch; Angelo Ferrugio, Head of Production, EA Games, Danielle Flagg, Executive Creative Director, Arts & Letters; Yves Geleyn, Director, Hornet; Lauren Greenfield, Director, Girl Culture Films; Katy Hornaday, EVP/Executive Creative Director, Barkley; Jan Jacobs, Co-Founder & Chief Creative Officer, Johannes Leonardo; Tom Jucarone, Partner/Mixer/Sound Designer, Sound Lounge; Peter Kain, Executive Creative Director, BBDO; Ellen Kuras, Director, The Corner Shop; Ari Kuschnir, Executive Producer/Founder, m ss ng p eces; Lisa Margulis, Managing Director/Executive Producer; The Directors Bureau; Elad Marish, Partner & Senior Producer, Swell Music + Sound; Charlie McBrearty, Owner, Shortlist Management; Lisa Mehling, President, Chelsea Pictures; Patrick Milling-Smith, Co-Founder, SMUGGLER; Halle Petro, Executive Creative Producer, Sonic Union; Rick Russell, Founding Editor/CEO, Final Cut; Lora Schulson, Director of Production, 72andSunny; Robin Shenfield, CEO, The Mill;
Rebecca Skinner, Managing Director/Executive Producer, Superprime; Liz Taylor, Chief Creative Officer, FCB Chicago; Katie Turinski, Editor, Exile; Mal Ward, Managing Di-rector/Partner, Arts & Sciences; and Ari Weiss, Chief Creative Officer, DDB.

AICP Week, which launched in 2013, is anchored by the premieres of the AICP Show and the AICP Next Awards, as well as educational seminars and events highlighting creativity and marketing that take place at AICP Week Base Camp.

The AICP Next Awards will debut on June 4th at Tishman Auditorium, and the AICP Show premieres during a screening and gala at The Museum of Modern Art in New York on June 6th.