AICP Awards Shortlists Announced

NEW YORK – April 23, 2018  – Matt Miller, President and CEO of AICP, today announced the AICP Awards Shortlists, which are comprised of work entered into the AICP Show and AICP Next Awards. The winners of the AICP Show and AICP Next Awards will be revealed during AICP Week, a celebration of marketing in the motion image. All shortlisted pieces along with their corresponding credits may be viewed at

The 2018 AICP Show Chairperson is Robin Shenfield, CEO and Co-Founder of The Mill; the 2018 AICP Next Awards Judging Chair is Susan Credle, Global Chief Creative Officer of FCB. Both serve as Chairs of their hand-picked Curatorial Committees that are made up of a virtual powerhouse of the best and the brightest in various disciplines in the industry. As part of the curatorial duties, these committees review all judging results determined by the hundreds of judges – (each uniquely judging only one of the 32 categories), and have been tasked with assembling the final shows. 

On the Shortlists, MJZ led production companies with 49 mentions, followed by 16 for Biscuit Filmworks and 15 for SMUGGLER.  BBDO (across various locations and affiliates) led the agency tally with 35 mentions.  TBWA agencies  - including TBWA\Media Arts Lab and TBWA\Chiat\Day  - followed with 25 and Wieden+Kennedy had 24.  Apple was the top brand on this year’s Shortlists with 26 mentions.  Nike had 12 and Procter & Gamble received 11.  The top 10 Production Companies, Agencies, and Brands appearing on  the Shortlists are as follows:

AICP Awards Shortlists: Production Companies
1) MJZ – 49
2) Biscuit Filmworks – 16
3) SMUGGLER – 15
4) O Positive – 10
6) Rattling Stick – 9
6) The Corner Shop – 9
6) Tool – 9
9) Furlined – 8
10) m ss ng p eces – 7
10) Park Pictures – 7
10) RESET – 7

AICP Awards Shortlists: Advertising Agencies
1) BBDO (including BBDO New York)– 35
2) TBWA (including TBWA\Media Arts Lab & TBWA\Chiat\Day) – 25
3) Wieden+Kennedy – 24
4) McCann – 17
5) Saatchi & Saatchi – 14
6) DDB – 12
6) Deutsch – 12
8) Goodby Silverstein & Partners – 8
8) Leo Burnett – 8
10) Apple (in-house) – 7
10) R/GA – 7

AICP Awards Shortlists: Brands
1) Apple – 26
2) Nike – 12
3) Procter & Gamble – 11
4) Samsung – 9
5) Skittles - 7
6) Intel – 6
6) State Street Global Advisors – 6
6) Tide – 6
9) adidas – 5
9) Gatorade – 5
9) – 5
9) Toyota - 5

“Each year’s Shortlists come into being because of the hard work of the 400-plus judges around the world who lend their professional and artistic voices to our ongoing archival project,” said Miller. “The pieces they have recognized reflect the current year and climate. We look forward to unveiling the final results on June 12th and 14th and celebrating our industry during AICP Week.”
The Curatorial Committees

Last week the Curatorial Committees of the AICP Show and the AICP Next Awards – both a diverse array of industry leaders – met to determine the final disposition of the Show and Next Awards, and in the case of the Next group, select the Most Next (Best in Show) honor from among all the winning work.
The AICP Next Awards Curatorial Committee comprises the Jury Presidents for each category, as well as a selection of Curators At Large. This year the group included Credle as well as Winston Binch, Chief Digital Officer, Deutsch North America (Website); Jen Dennis, Head of VR, RSA VR (Virtual Reality); Geoff Edwards, VP/Executive Creative Director, R/GA  (Branded Content); Kerstin Emhoff, Co-Founder/Executive Producer, PRETTYBIRD (Viral);  Katherine Keating, Publisher, Vice Impact (Cause Marketing); Danielle Lee, Global Head of Partner Solutions, Spotify (Mobile); Jaime Robinson, Co-Founder/Chief Creative Officer, Joan (Integrated Campaign); Jimmy Smith, Chairman/CEO/CCO; The Amusement Park Universe (Innovation); Tereasa Surratt, Group Creative Director/Executive Director of Experiential, Ogilvy Global (Experiential); and Fernando Machado, Global Chief Marketing Officer, Burger King (Social).       

Joining the Jury Presidents as Curators At Large are: Rei Inamoto, Founding Partner, Inamoto & Co (2012 AICP Next Awards Judging Chair); Allen Mask, VP/ Marketing, Intelligence and Partnerships, Sonos; Jeff Kling, Chief Creative Officer, Fallon Worldwide (2016 AICP Next Awards Judging Chair); and Eric Silver, North American Chief Creative Officer, McCann New York.
The AICP Show Curatorial Committee comprises: Shenfield; Eric Berkowitz, Founder, Humble; Ali Brown, VP/Executive Producer, PRETTYBIRD; Wilson Brown, Executive Creative Director/Partner, Antfood; Maryanne Butler, Creative Director, Framestore; Sally Campbell, Founding Partner, Somesuch, Rich Carter, Owner/Executive Producer, brother;  Ben Davies, Executive Producer/Director of Development, Furlined; Craig Duncan, Managing Director/Partner, Cutters Studios; Laura Fegley, Executive Creative Director, Colle McVoy; Robert Fernandez, CEO, Moxie Pictures;  Oliver Fuselier, Managing Partner, Tool; Katy Hornaday, EVP/Executive Creative Director, Barkley; Tom Jucarone, Mixer/Partner/Sound Designer, Sound Lounge; Julian Katz, Director of Production, Mother USA; Peter Kain, Executive Creative Director, BBDO New York; Charlie McBrearty, Owner, Shortlist Management; Lisa Mehling, President, Chelsea Pictures; Kate Morrison, Director of Production, 72andSunny; Halle Petro, Executive Creative Director, Sonic Union; Jay Russell, Chief Creative Officer, GSD&M; Lora Schulson, Director of Production, 72andSunny; Cliff Skeete, Creative Director, 140; Rebecca Skinner, Managing Director/Executive Producer, Superprime; Liz Taylor, Chief Creative Officer, FCB Chicago; Wesley Ter Haar, Founder, MediaMonks; and Mal Ward, Managing Director/Partner, Arts & Sciences.   

The AICP Show & AICP Next Awards will debut during AICP Week, which will take place in New York City June 12th – June 14th. The AICP Next Awards will be on June 12th at the Tishman Auditorium, and the AICP Show premieres at The Museum of Modern Art on June 14th, before heading out on a National Tour.

More information about AICP Week, as well as Passes and Tickets, are now available by clicking below.

AICP Week Information/Registration