Michael Sagol Named Chairman of the 2014 AICP Show

Michael Sagol Named Chairman of the 2014 AICP Show
Call For Entries Now Open

NEW YORK, JANUARY 13, 2014 – Matt Miller, President and CEO of the Association of Independent Commercial Producers (AICP) announced today that Michael Sagol, Managing Director/Executive Producer of Caviar, will serve as Chairman of the 2014 AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial. As part of his Show Chair duties, Sagol will preside over AICP Week, which includes the AICP Next Awards, as well as the Directors Lecture Series. The Call for Entries for the AICP Show and AICP Next Awards is now open at: http://www.awardcore.com/aicp/login.php. AICP Week will take place in New York from June 10-12. 
“I am honored to serve as the Chairman of the AICP Show, and to oversee AICP Week,” said Sagol.  “The Show and the events during the week celebrate the craft and creativity of commercial filmmaking. For the past 23 years, the Show has provided a window into the culture of a given year. It will be wonderful to see what our judges and curators select for 2014.”
“We are excited to have Michael on board as the Show Chair,” noted Miller. “His expertise in recognizing creativity and excellence, and his contributions to the industry are a huge asset to the AICP Show and AICP Week.”
In 2002, Sagol founded Atomik Pictures, and in 2005 merged the company with Caviar. Today, the company - which has offices in Los Angeles, London, Paris, Prague and Brussels - produces advertising content for all media, as well as films and television series.
2014 AICP Show Committee
As Show Chairman, Sagol oversees the AICP Show Committee, which is responsible for promoting and marketing the AICP Show, and facilitating the judging process and selection of judges (the AICP Digital Chapter works with the AICP Show Committee to select the judges for the Visual Effects, Animation and Design categories). He will also spearhead the selection of companies providing editorial, graphics and music to the AICP Show reel. He serves on the AICP Show’s Board of Governors, which is the final arbiter of the AICP Show, charged with ensuring the quality of the Show and adherence to its rules.  The AICP Next Awards Judging Chair, Jury Presidents, and Judges will be announced shortly. 
       The Show Committee serving with Sagol includes:  Dickey Abedon, Uncle Lefty; Marlene Bartos, Yessian Music; Kevin Batten, Logan; Denise Blate Roederer, Chelsea Pictures; Roe Bressan, Lively Group; Maddi Carlton, H.S.I Productions; Xavier Egurbide, Free Agents; Carolyn Hill, Carolyn's Office; Becky Jungmann, Station Film; Chris Karabas, House of Reps; Mary Knox, Smoke and Mirrors; Allison Kunzman, Smuggler; Debbi Landon, HUM Music; Pamela Maythenyi, SourceECreative; Charlie McBrearty, Shortlist; Vanessa McLean, Shortlist; Rob Mueller, House of Reps; Michael Pardee, The Mission; Dan Sbrega, Uncle Lefty; Laura Thoel, The Sweet Shop; Dalya Tugendhaft, Uncle Lefty; Jennifer Warren, I Love Whales; Cara Wenig, Barrie Isaacson Management; and Kit Winter, Human.
AICP Week, which launched in 2013, is anchored by the premieres of the AICP Show and the AICP Next Awards, as well as educational seminars and events highlighting creativity and marketing.
The AICP Show, established in 1992, is the most important advertising showcase in the U.S. Each year, the best advertising appearing in the moving image is honored and made part of the archive of the Department of Film at MoMA.  The AICP Next Awards, launched in 2007, highlights the winners of the eight Next categories, which honor innovative marketing communications. The AICP Next Awards are also archived at MoMA. The AICP Next Awards will debut on June 10th at New York University’s Skirball Theater, and the AICP Show premieres during a screening and gala at The Museum of Modern Art in New York on June 12th.